Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

taking back sunday

happiness is

Hopeless Records


Released: 17th Mar 2014


a beautifully crafted, well-constructed album full of soaring builds & heartbreaking collapses that lends credence to the notion that the best things come to those who wait.

while some of the energy of their previous outing can still be felt, the band seems better able to harness it, giving this album a tighter, more controlled feel. this really comes through in how the album flows. the gentle ‘preface’ allows you to settle in with a string arrangement that builds itself into a frenzy before ripping into ‘flicker, fade,’ which channels the elegant discord of the opening into something more focused & dramatic. the album continues on this kind of arc, crashing & settling like the tides, before coming to a close with ‘nothing at all,’ a gentle number whose slow descent into discord feels like the perfect bookend to the album's jumping-off point.

happiness is

  1. Preface
  2. Flicker, Fade
  3. Stood A Chance
  4. All The Way
  5. Beat Up Car
  6. It Takes More
  7. They Don’t Have Any Friends
  8. Better Homes And Gardens
  9. Like You Do
  10. We Were Younger Then
  11. Nothing At All