Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


The Rough Guide to Ray Charles

world music network


Released: 31st Mar 2017



Released: 25th Aug 2017


this sets you up with all the hits you need in a pinch: ‘I Got A Woman’, ‘Georgia On My Mind’, ‘Mess Around’; they’re all here.

Ray Charles Robinson was born into acute poverty in rural Georgia in 1930 & had a tragic upbringing. He witnessed his brother drown as a young child, was blind from the age of seven & lost his mother when he was 15. At blind school he learnt to read & write music in braille & began his recording career for the Downbeat label in 1949, singing in a smooth, crooning style modelled on Nat ‘King’ Cole & Charles Brown. it was not until he signed to Atlantic Records in 1952 that he began to develop his own style & moved away from his ‘cool’ sound towards a more urgent & emotional approach with its roots in blues & gospel.


The Rough Guide to Ray Charles

  1. Come Rain Or Come Shine
  2. What'd I Say (Parts 1 & 2)
  3. Lonely Avenue
  4. I Got A Woman
  5. Georgia On My Mind
  6. Hallelujah I Love Her So
  7. Drown In My Own Tears
  8. Early In The Morning
  9. Night Time Is The Right Time
  10. Mess Around
  11. I Believe To My Soul
  12. Mary Ann
  13. Come Back Baby
  14. This Little Girl Of Mine
  15. Sinner's Prayer
  16. Talkin' ‘Bout You
  17. A Fool For You
  18. Let The Good Times Roll
  19. Blackjack
  20. I Had A Dream
  21. Tell Me How Do You Feel
  22. It Should've Been Me
  23. I’m Moving On