Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

karl blau

Out Her Space

bella union

limited red lp + download

Released: 17th Nov 2017



Released: 17th Nov 2017


a world apart from his preceding country-soul covers album, all that returns amidst this entirely original material is his rich voice that reverberates around fresh, expansive sonic territory, drawing acid-country, afro-pop, blues, soul, jazz, & rock ‘n’ roll into a lush landscape.

comprising all of his own material, production & multi-instrumental skills, this record forges a gorgeous, languid & hook-infested gumbo of soul, funk, some jazzy blowing & Afro-pop, to arrive somewhere else entirely. the album also testifies to his studio skills, as he captures the glimmering, humid depths of those sweltering southern influences, despite his north-western heritage. “Some songs have long tails,” he says, referring to the jazzy flights of fancy & blues-laced guitar blow-outs. “I thought maybe we should cut them off, but they grew on me.” “a soul-funk cousin to [matthew e. white’s] ‘big inner’” 8/10 – uncut.

Out Her Space


  1. Slow Children
  2. Poor The War Away
  3. Beckon
  4. Valley Of Sadness
  5. Blue As My Name
  6. I’ve Got The Sounds (Like You’ve Got The Blues)
  7. Where Ya Goin’ Papa
  8. Dub The War Away