Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Craig Finn

I Need A New War

Partisan Records


Released: 26th Apr 2019



Released: 26th Apr 2019


limited indies only clear lp + download

Released: 26th Apr 2019


out of stock

The Hold Steady frontman’s fourth album is a bold work of powerful Americana-tinged storytelling with a buoyant seasoning of timeless r&b arrangments.

his third solo record on Partisan cements him as one of today's most vital singer-songwriters, among the ranks of Leonard Cohen and Tom Waits. This record feels like another confident step forward from Craig. He tells the stories of people on the margins, focusing on characters who are lost and who have been left behind. There is nothing glamorous about their stories, it is a very "daytime" portrait of these characters. These are also the least American-specific songs that he’s ever written.

I Need A New War

  1. Blankets
  2. Magic Marker
  3. A Bathtub In The Kitchen
  4. Indications
  5. Grant at Galena
  6. Something To Hope For
  7. Carmen Isn't Coming In Today
  8. Holyoke
  9. Her With The Blues
  10. Anne Marie & Shane