Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


The Rough Guide to Skip James

world music network


Released: 22nd Feb 2019


Skip James was a Delta blues enigma, whose mesmerizing guitar playing and haunting voice produced bluer than blue masterpieces.

This beautifully re-mastered collection of his seminal 1931 recordings shows why his otherworldly blues cast its spell on many blues greats from Robert Johnson to Eric Clapton.

The Rough Guide to Skip James


  1. Hard Time Killin’ Floor Blues
  2. I’m So Glad
  3. Drunken Spree
  4. If You Haven’t Any Hay Get On Down The Road
  5. Cherry Ball Blues
  6. Be Ready When He Comes
  7. Little Cow And Calf Is Gonna Die Blues
  8. Devil Got My Woman
  9. How Long “Buck”
  10. Jesus Is A Mighty Good Leader
  11. Cypress Grove Blues
  12. Illinois Blues
  13. 22-20 Blues