Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Sad Sappy Sucker



Released: 4th Aug 2014


lp + download

Released: 27th Oct 2014


out of stock

‘Sad Sappy Sucker’ is Modest Mouse’s "lost album" - It was recorded by K Records’ Calvin Johnson in 1994 & was supposed to be the band’s debut but delays shelved the record & it disappeared.

All 12 songs recorded during the Dub Narcotic Studio sessions are on the album, including the impossible to find ‘Worms Vs. Birds’ 7”. As a bonus treat, there are nine songs from Modest Mouse lead singer, guitarist, banjoist, and songwriter Isaac Brock’s ‘Dial-a-Song’ project. These were on his answering machine every day and could only be heard by calling in.

Sad Sappy Sucker


  1. Birds Vs. Worms
  2. Four Fingered Fisherman
  3. Wagon Ride Return
  4. Classy Plastic Lumber
  5. From Point A To Point B
  6. Path Of Least Resistance
  7. It Always Rains On A Picnic
  8. Dukes Up
  9. Think Long
  10. Every Penny Fed Car
  11. Mice Eat Cheese
  12. Race Car Grin You Ain’t No Landmark
  13. Red Hand Case
  14. Secret Agent X-9
  15. Blue Cadet-3, Do You Connect?
  16. Call To Dial A Song
  17. 5-4-3-2-1... Lisp Off
  18. Woodgrain
  19. BMX Crash
  20. Sucker Bet
  21. Black Blood & Old New
  22. Wagers
  23. SWY
  24. Australopithecus
  25. Sin Gun Chaser