Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


The Fruit That Ate Itself



Released: 4th Aug 2014


LP + download

Released: 3rd Nov 2014


‘The Fruit That Ate Itself’, Produced by Calvin Johnson (K Records / Beat Happening etc), possesses a leaner & meaner sound than earlier Modest Mouse releases.

the emphasis here is less on noise than groove & the spare, edgy approach of cuts like ‘Dirty Fingernails’. the title track recalls the goofy indie-funk of Dub Narcotic Sound System and other like-minded Johnson-helmed projects.

The Fruit That Ate Itself


  1. Sunspots (Untitled)
  2. The Waydown
  3. Fruit (Untitled)
  4. Dirty Fingernails
  5. Sunspots In The House
  6. Of The Late Scapegoat
  7. The Fruit That Ate Itself
  8. Way Down (Untitled)
  9. Summer
  10. Karma’s Payment
  11. Blue Cadet-3, Do You Connect?
  12. Dukes Up
  13. Woodgrain
  14. It Always Rains On A Picnic
  15. 5-4-3-2-1... Lisp Off