Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Bobby Parker

Soul Of The Blues (rsd 20)

Rhythm and Blues

record store day 2020 - LP

Released: 29th Aug 2020


out of stock

Virtuoso blues guitarist Bobby Parker inspired John Lennon, Eric Clapton, Carlos Santana, Jimmy Page and many others yet it has taken 66 years since his recording debut for a vinyl LP compilation to be issued under his name.

The opening track Watch your Step was played on stage by the Beatles in their Hamburg days who by their own admission, took its riff to fashion the opening to I Feel Fine. And let’s not forget Led Zeppelin’s Moby Dick, which borrowed that same riff. What a great soulful blues singer Bobby Parker was too. From his 1956 recording of Titanic, to 1969’s It's Hard But It's Fair, the latest cut on this album, we present 15 unforgettable vocal performances plus two instrumentals that showcase his unique way of playing the blues. Bobby Parker originals are hard to come by – apart from the hit Watch your Step, everything else is a valuable collector’s item. But this compilation brings them all together in one box and we can promise a treat in store for you. Limited exlclusive pressing for RSD of 500 units.

Soul Of The Blues (rsd 20)


  1. Watch Your Step
  2. Hard But It's Fair
  3. Titanic
  4. Won't Believe It Till I See It
  5. Don't Drive Me Away
  6. Gimme Some Lovin'
  7. Blues Get Off My Shoulder 8.
  8. Away From My Heart
  9. Night Stroll (Pt. 2)
  10. it's Too Late Darling
  11. Steal Your Heart Away
  12. Couldn't Quit My Baby
  13. Once Upon A Time, Long Ago, Last Night
  14. You Got What It Takes
  15. Do The Monkey
  16. Get Right
  17. Hot Gravy.