Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Eric Demarsan

‘Le Cercle Rouge (Original Soundtrack)

We Release Jazz

DELUXE 180g half speed master LP + obi-STRIP

Released: 10th Aug 2018


out of stock

We Release Jazz is delighted to present the official reissue of the original soundtrack of Jean-Pierre Melville's 1970 film noir classic Le Cercle Rouge (starring Alain Delon, Bourvil, Gian Maria Volontè, and Yves Montand) composed by French soundtrack master Eric Demarsan, available on limited edition 180g vinyl LP mastered at half speed and including 4 bonus tracks not available on previous pressings of the album.

Eric Demarsan's compositions for Le Cercle Rouge draw from the orchestral spirit of the Modern Jazz Quartet (as requested by Melville who loved John Lewis' work), abstraction and minimalism to create a suspenseful and hypnotizing audio landscape which elegantly underlines the tense atmosphere of unavoidable fate that shrouds the movie and the doleful beauty of its characters. Simply put, it's the finest combination of underworld existentialism, coldblooded chic, and crime jazz! Le Cercle Rouge boasts the participation of celebrated jazz players Guy Pedersen (bass), Daniel Humair (drums), Georges Arvanitas (piano), and Bernard Lubat (vibraphone). Starting as a collaborator of François de Roubaix and Michel Magne in the 60s, Eric Demarsan went on to become a mainstay of French cinema soundtracks, composing for directors such as Jean-Pierre Mocky, Costa-Gavras, and Patrice Leconte among others. He also recorded the cult album Pop Symphony (for Pierre Cardin in 1970) under the Jason Havelock pseudonym.

‘Le Cercle Rouge (Original Soundtrack)


  1. Le Cercle Rouge
  2. Corey Revient Chez Lui
  3. Final Inédit Version 2
  4. Sur Les Toits
  5. Corey Et Mattei
  6. Vogel S'enfuit
  7. Quand Les Hommes Ont Rendez-Vous
  8. Razzia Chez Boucheron
  9. Barrage Policier (first time on vinyl)
  10. Les Habitants Du Placard
  11. Avenue Paul-Doumer (first time on vinyl)
  12. Avant Le Casse Version 1
  13. Un Indicateur Scrupuleux
  14. Corey Et Vogel
  15. Melvillade
  16. Avant Le Casse Version 2 (first time on vinyl)
  17. De La Prison Au Train (first time on vinyl)
  18. Le Voyage De Corey
  19. Cercle Désincarné