Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Ethiopians

freedom train

kingston sounds


Released: 15th Apr 2013



Released: 8th Apr 2013


out of stock

the ethiopians are one of the great vocal groups to come out of jamaica, singing songs of life & times as they found them.

the majority of this release is collected from a time when founding member lenard dillon returned to port antonio till 1977, when he was persuaded to return to treasure isle studios with producer niney the observer & cut the rasta based album ‘slave call’. additional members who joined for this album were bro fatty, bro ewing, bro t, mello & hychi dread. it was an album that showed all the ethiopians magic remained following the loss of other founding members. this release includes the full ‘slave call’ set alongside some of the bands early hits including the original version of ‘train to skaville’, ‘engine 54’, the great & poignant ‘everything crash’, ‘reggae hit the town’ & ‘the selah’. an interesting set to remind us what a great group the ethiopians really were.

freedom train


  1. Pick Up the Rockers
  2. M.P.L.A.
  3. Don’t Get Crazy
  4. Go De Natty
  5. Stop The Gun Shooting
  6. Ital Pot
  7. Marcus
  8. Chalice To Chalice
  9. Don’t Deal With Babylon
  10. Freedom
  11. Pick Up the Dub (cd only)
  12. Dub M.P.L.A.(cd only)