Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Count Ossie & The Rasta Family

Man From Higher Heights

Soul Jazz Records


Released: 20th May 2016



Released: 20th May 2016


a fascinating blend of heavyweight Rastafarian roots rhythms & drumming alongside deep jazz improvisation & tripped out psychedelic fuzz guitar – this long lost reggae album has been digitally remastered & is ready for rediscovery.

Recorded in Kingston, Jamaica & originally released in 1983, it remains unclear whether this album is a mixture of original recordings overlayed with additional players, or Ossie’s post-Mystic Revelation players remaining true to the spirit of Count Ossie (who had died in a car crash in 1976). Count Ossie is the central character in the development of Rastafarian roots music, an almost mythical & iconic figure. His importance in bringing Rastafarian music to a populist audience is matched only by Bob Marley’s promotion of the faith internationally in the 1970s.

Man From Higher Heights


  1. Africa We Want Fe Go
  2. Cruising Down The Line
  3. Misfits
  4. Crossing River Jordan
  5. Mystic Memories
  6. Drums For Wise Man
  7. Chanting Higher Heights