Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Augustus Pablo Meets King Tubby

The Messenger

Griffiths Records


Released: 23rd Aug 2019


limited clear lp

Released: 23rd Aug 2019


cut at some point in the 70s, this lost gem has finally broken free to delight and amaze.

This is music that upholds the very high stars of their past, music which fires itself on imagination and strength, a collusion and collaboration of immense proportions, music that provides and creates moods with such purpose and drive. Pablo’s melodica is centre stage but is counterpointed by contagious rhythms and touches of inspiration as horns and bass lines mesh in and out of view, held down by an ever steady barrage of sturdy drums and bass and a never ceasing source of imaginative and delightful sounds. The sound constantly changes and because it does the album contains a staggering array of moods, from upbeat into deep waters. 

The Messenger


  1. Stars
  2. That’s Real
  3. Sugar
  4. Happy And Merry
  5. Watchful
  6. Prince
  7. Uprising
  8. Smiling Faces