Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.





Released: 10th Jun 2016


lp + download

Released: 10th Jun 2016


the Berlin-based composer, producer & sound designer's programmed piano pieces with live instruments, are right at home on the infallible erased tapes label amongst his peers nils frahm, olafur arnalds, a winged victory for the sullen et al.

combining the controllable technical world & the often unpredictable aspects of live improvisation, in some ways 'spells' continues where his debut ‘Gravity’ left off, though a lot of weight is lifted, making room for a lighter & more energetic listen. Nils Frahm mixed & mastered both albums. Ben's sound collages are meticulously designed - intricate, humanised programming, enhanced by drummer Achim Färber, cellist Anton Peisakhov & harpist Lara Somogyi, with a considerate selection of echoes, delays & compressors to create a hybrid sound that shares sonic space as much with explosions in the sky's widescreen post rock as it does with eluvium's hissing soundscapes & jon hopkins's gorgeous cinescapes. 


  1. The Veil
  2. Nocturne 3
  3. Sleepers Beat Theme
  4. Golden Times 1
  5. Nocturne 4
  6. Keep Watch
  7. Golden Times 2
  8. Selene