Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

robert pollard

FROM A COMPOUND EYE (2021 reissue)

guided by voices, inc.

2lp in gatefold

Released: 17th Dec 2021


out of stock

From A Compound Eye was Robert Pollard’s first solo album after dissolving Guided By Voices in 2004.

When things came to an end for GBV, Pollard promised that this would not mean the end of his songwriting and recording career. It actually provided a fresh start. Leaving his band (and Matador Records) behind allowed him to record when he wanted and what he wanted, with whomever he wanted. Chock full of fantastic songs including “Dancing Girls and Dancing Men”, “I’m a Widow”, “Love Is Stronger Than Witchcraft”, and “I’m A Strong Lion”. “ the tradition of deck-clearing double LPs like the Minutemen’s Double Nickels On The Dime and The Beatles’ White Album.” —The AV Club

FROM A COMPOUND EYE (2021 reissue)

  1. Gold
  2. Field Jacket Blues
  3. Dancing Girls And Dancing Men
  4. Flowering Orphan
  5. The Right Thing
  6. U.S. Mustard Company
  7. The Numbered Head
  8. I?m A Widow
  9. Fresh Threats, Salad Shooters and Zip Guns
  10. Kick Me And Cancel
  11. Other Dogs Remain
  12. Kensington Cradle
  13. Love Is Stronger Than Witchcraft
  14. Hammer In Your Eyes
  15. 50-Year-Old Baby
  16. I Surround You Naked
  17. Cock Of The Rainbow
  18. Conquerer Of The Moon
  19. Blessed In An Open Head
  20. A Boy In Motion 21. Denied
  21. Light Show
  22. I?m A Strong Lion
  23. Payment For The Babies
  24. Kingdom Without
  25. Recovering