Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Let Your Dim Light Shine (2022 reissue)

real gone music

limited dark purple lp

Released: 11th Feb 2022


The follow-up to Soul Asylum’s 1992 breakthrough album Grave Dancers Union fell victim to heightened expectations, but, contrary to the majority of criticism in the alternative music press, this was no major label sell-out.

While it was true that Let Your Dim Light Shine boasted such radiofriendly tunes as the single “Misery” (you know you’ve made it when Weird Al Yankovic covers one of your songs!) and the electro-acoustic ballad “Promises Broken,” the commercial success of Grave Dancers Union allowed songwriter Dave Pirner the freedom to expand the stylistic reach of the band and even sneak in some genuinely experimental tracks, like “Caged Rat.” Being a mid-‘90s release, this album was available on vinyl for only a heartbeat; our Real Gone reissue features the original jacket and inner sleeve art, and comes in a dark purple vinyl edition limited to 1500 copies! Co-produced by Butch Vig of Nevermind fame…

Let Your Dim Light Shine (2022 reissue)

  1. Misery
  2. Shut Down
  3. To My Own Devices
  4. Hopes Up
  5. Promises Broken
  6. Bittersweetheart
  7. String of Pearls1. Crawl
  8. Caged Rat
  9. Eyes of a Child
  10. Just Like Anyone
  11. Tell Me When
  12. Nothing to Write home About
  13. I Did My Best