Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Saint Etienne

Home Counties

heavenly recordings

limited cd

Released: 2nd Jun 2017


2lp with hand stickered sleeve + DOWNLOAD

Released: 2nd Jun 2017


16 new songs of shimmering melancholy & poised pop written about a day in the life of the doughnut of shires that ring the capital.

It's punctuated by bursts of BBC radio to remind you what time it is, and all connected by train journeys - main lines, branch lines, commutes, escapes. It begins with 'SOMETHING NEW' & a teenage girl creeping through the front door after staying out all night. It stops at 'WHYTELEAFE' & imagines what might have happened if David Bowie had remained David Jones of Bromley, stuck with a desk job. It summons up the Enfield Poltergeist on 'HEATHER' & the anarchy of Essex's Plotland settlers on 'SWEET ARCADIA'. 'TRAIN DRIVERS IN EYELINER' wonders what the railway network might be like if it was organised according to ASLEF's taste in music. "the catchy hooks and danceable rhythms drip with just the right amount of psychedelic dance-pop sweetness" 8/10 - lineofbestfit

Home Counties


  1. The Reunion
  2. Something New
  3. Magpie Eyes
  4. Whyteleafe
  5. Dive
  6. Church Pew Furniture Restorer
  7. Take It All In
  8. Popmaster
  9. Underneath The Apple Tree
  10. Out Of My Mind
  11. After Hebden
  12. Breakneck Hill
  13. Heather
  14. Sports Report
  15. Train Drivers In Eyeliner
  16. Unopened Fan Mail
  17. What Kind Of World
  18. Sweet Arcadia
  19. Angel Of Woodhatch