Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Saint Etienne

Tiger Bay (2017 reissue)

heavenly recordings


Released: 16th Jun 2017


This 2CD remastered deluxe version contains a booklet with an interview with Bob Stanley and additional bonus disc containing demos and all of the B-sides.

‘Tiger Bay’ is the third studio album by Saint Etienne. It was released in 1994 by Heavenly Recordings. In an interview with Record Collector, band member Bob Stanley stated that the title is a reference to the 1959 film ‘Tiger Bay’. The album is described by Bob Stanley as “an album of modern folk songs done in Twentieth Century styles like techno and dub.” ‘Like A Motorway’, for example, blends Kraftwerk -style techno with the melody from the Nineteenth Century folk song ‘Silver Dagger’. Some of the songs, such as ‘Marble Lions’ and ‘Former Lover’ forsake electronics for classical folk instrumentation and orchestral arrangements. One, ‘Western Wind’, is a traditional English folk song. The original cover art is James Cook Harts’ ‘Welcome Bonny Boat’, doctored to include the band members.

Tiger Bay (2017 reissue)


  1. Urban Clearway
  2. Former Lover
  3. Hug My Soul
  4. Like A Motorway
  5. On The Shore
  6. Marble Lions
  7. Pale Movie
  8. Cool Kids Of Death
  9. Western Wind / Tankerville
  10. The Boy Scouts Of America
  11. Urban Clearway (Demo)


  1. Blach Horse Latitude
  2. I Buy American Records
  3. Hate Your Drug
  4. You Know I’ll Miss You When I’m Gone
  5. Sushi Rider
  6. Hug My Soul (Demo)
  7. The Wedding Of Stacey Dorning
  8. Deborah’s French Feast
  9. Western Wind (Demo)
  10. Pale Movie (Demo)
  11. La Poupee Qui Fait Non (No No No)
  12. Highgate Road Incident
  13. My Christmas Prayer
  14. I Was Born On Christmas Day