Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Mountain Moves

Joyful Noise Recordings


Released: 8th Sep 2017


out of stock

lp + download

Released: 8th Sep 2017


It’s officially the year of the deerhoof, ‘mountain moves’ a guest-filled celebration of the indie underground that they’ve helped forge with singular ‘always different/always the same’ audacity.

it finds them far less noisy than they can be, but as reliably exuberant and inventive as ever. songs with the likes of Laetitia sadier, jenn wasner (wye oak) and matana Roberts guesting fizz with a natural collaborative energy. it makes for an album completely comfortable in its creativity and as open-sounding as the band have ever sounded, and therefore the perfect moment for world to catch up with this indie-institution. “Mountain Moves is a brilliantly executed synthesis of tag-averse weirdness, orchestral pop and easy grooves” 8/10 – uncut, “Vibrant and outward-looking, the record has a buoyant, dancified energy” 8/10 - q

Mountain Moves


  1. Slow Motion Detonation (ft. Juana Molina) 2 Con Sordino 3 I Will Spite Survive (ft. Jenn Wasner) 4 Come Down Here & Say That (ft. Lætitia Sadier) 5 Gracias a la Vida (Violeta Parra) 6 Begin Countdown 7 Your Dystopic Creation Doesn't Fear You (ft. Awkwafina) 8 Ay That's Me 9 Palace of the Governors 10 Singalong Junk (ft. Xenia Rubinos) 11 Mountain Moves (ft. Matana Roberts) 12 Freedom Highway (The Staple Singers) 13 Sea Moves (ft. Chad Popple & Devin Hoff) 14 Kokoye 15 Small Axe (Bob Marley)