Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The BBC Radiophonic Workshop

Four Albums 1968 - 1978 (rsd 20)

Silva Screen

record store day 2020 - numbered 6CD boxset

Released: 29th Aug 2020


out of stock

The seminal output of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop has delighted fans of electronic music and soundtracks over the decades.

BBC Radiophonic Music (known as “The Pink album”), The Radiophonic Workshop, Fourth Dimension and Through A Glass Darkly have been released extensively on vinyl, but only the first two of these have been released commercially on a CD format. They include works from composers Delia Derbyshire, David Cain, John Baker, Dick Mills, Roger Limb, Paddy Kingsland and Peter Howell amongst others. The bonus discs of The Changes (Paddy Kingsland, 1975) and The Stone Tape (Desmond Briscoe/Glynis Jones, 1972), TV soundtracks to BBC series of the same names, make their debut on CD to complete the set, which represents the legacy of one of the UK’s most respected and ground-breaking musical institutions.

Four Albums 1968 - 1978 (rsd 20)


  1. BBC Radiophonic Music (1968)
  2. Fourth Dimension (1973)
  3. The Radiophonic Workshop (1975)
  4. Through A Glass Darkly (1978)
  5. The Stone Tape (broadcast 1972)
  6. The Changes (broadcast 1975)