Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


nights out (10th anniversary edition)


limited green 2lp + silver hot stamping on back cover

Released: 8th Feb 2019


out of stock

As Metronomy work on their forthcoming sixth album, they take a moment to reflect on the 10th anniversary of their breakthrough album ‘Nights Out’.

  Metronomy’s Joseph Mount has delved into the archives for ‘Nights Out: 10th Anniversary Edition’ which will be released on February 8th on Because Music. It features the original critically acclaimed album alongside a second LP which expands upon Mount’s vision with a set of unreleased demos, rarities and b-sides - many of which make their first appearance on vinyl. Two of the highlights come with alternative versions which have become staples of the Metronomy live set: a bedtime dub version of ‘Holiday’ which takes it into a darker, glitchier direction, and a French-language version of ‘Heartbreaker’. Mount’s Francophile leanings are also explored in Breakbot’s remix of ‘A Thing For Me’, which contrasts French touch vibes with Mount’s distinctly English-accented vocals.  Previously issued on an exclusive Rough Trade bonus disc, ‘Over’ is an instrumental of cinematic scale, while the disc closes with four previously unreleased demos including the leftfield minimalism of ‘Das Booty’. Although Metronomy’s 2006’s debut album ‘Pip Paine (Pay The £5000 You Owe)’ was discovered by those in the know, it was ‘Nights Out’ that captured the imagination of a much wider audience. Mount achieved the seemingly impossible: he highlighted both the joyous atmosphere of a big night out and a taste of the resultant comedown in a set that playfully veered towards being a concept album. About Nights Out Joseph Mount says: “Oscar reminded me the other day how I said to him on completing Radio Ladio ‘I think I’ve just written my first number 1’.  I hadn’t.  We also reminisced about the day we borrowed the Honda Insight for the album artwork: I found the owner on an enthusiast chat room, we gave his daughter two Kate Nash tickets and a meet and greet with Kate in exchange for a few shots with the vehicle… simpler times.  Shout out to Myspace.” Metronomy’s most recent album ‘Summer 08’ was released in 2016 to widespread critical acclaim.  DIY described it as a “pure-pop odyssey” and NME concluded, “Mount has done it again. He could write music about the impact of Brexit on the UK’s trade with China and make it sound amazing. He’s that good.”

nights out (10th anniversary edition)


  1. Nights Out
  2. The End Of You Too
  3. Radio Ladio
  4. My Heart Rate Rapid
  5. Heartbreaker
  6. On The Motorway
  7. Holiday
  8. A Thing For Me
  9. Back On The Motorway
  10. On Dancefloors
  11. Nights Outro
  12. Our Raid
  13. Lets Have A Party
  14. The Chase
  15. Holiday (Bedtime Dub)
  16. Please Me
  17. Over
  18. Matthias Gathering
  19. Heartbreaker (French Version)
  20. A Thing For Me (Breakbot Remix)
  21. Intro Thing (Demo)
  22. Young Americans (Demo)
  23. Output (Demo)
  24. Das Booty (Demo)