other titles...


Such Ferocious Beauty

limited tan colour lp - £23.99 | Buy
cd - £12.99 | Buy
A tangle of lo-fi sonic textures, this album is a rumination on aging, losing parents, facing mortality and creating space for one’s life in the midst of ...
Lay It Down (first time on vinyl!)
  1. Something More Besides You
  2. A Common Disaster
  3. Lay It Down
  4. Hold On to Me
  5. Come Calling (His Song)
  6. Just Want to See
  7. Lonely Sinking Feeling
  8. Angel Mine
  9. Bea’s Song (River Song Trilogy Part II)
  10. Musical Key
  11. Speaking Confidentially
  12. Come Calling (Her Song)
  13. Now I Know


Lay It Down (first time on vinyl!)

real gone music
  • black lp

    Released: 11th Aug 2023


Every Cowboy Junkies album is a sonic treat, full of gorgeous guitar tones from Michael Timmons, haunting vocals from Margo Timmins, and beautiful arrangements, and 1996’s 'Lay it Down' is no exception.

But there is one big difference between this album and its predecessors: it rocks! And pretty hard, too, particularly on the Crazy Horse-esque Canadian hit “A Common Disaster,” “Just Want to See,” and the Paisley Underground-style title track. The pared-down quartet line-up accounts for some of this tougher approach; but producer John Keane definitely shaped this album’s sound, lending these songs a palpable Athens, GA/R.E.M. vibe that transports the Junkies out of their customary Americana/alt-country territory into a more indie-rock feel.