other titles...

the chills

Brave Words (2023 Reissue)

Limited Pearl 2LP + download - £28.99 | Buy
Remixed and remastered under the supervision of Martin Phillipps, this expanded edition of The Chills’ debut album is reissued for the first time in over ...
the chills

Scatterbrain (standard edition)

LP - £19.99 | Buy
Latest studio album from the Dunedin (NZ) songsmiths helmed by the enigmatic Martin Phillipps with artwork by Trees’ David Costa.
the chills


limited indies only "deep sea marble effect" lp + download - £21.99 | Buy
A mature and honest reflection on life, destiny and the fate of our times, Philipps embeds his trademarked incisive turns of phrase within beautiful melodies.
the chills

Kaleidoscope World (2016 reissue)

2lp + download - £30.99
one of the most important debuts of all time – ‘Kaleidoscope World’ is not just the starting point for The Chills, but a story of how it all b...
Kaleidoscope World (2023 Reissue)
  1. Kaleidoscope World
  2. Satin Doll
  3. Frantic Drift
  4. Rolling Moon
  5. Bite
  6. Flame Thrower
  7. Pink Frost
  8. Purple Girl
  9. This Is The Way
  10. Never Never Go
  11. Don't Even Know Her Name
  12. Bee Bah Bee Bah Bee Boe
  13. Whole Weird World
  14. Dream By Dream
  15. Doledrums
  16. Hidden Bay
  17. I Love My Leather Jacket
  18. The Great Escape
  19. Oncoming Day (Early Version)
  20. Dan Destiny and the Silver Dawn (Unplugged)
  21. Martyn’s Doctor Told Me
  22. I'll Only See You Alone Again
  23. Green-Eyed Owl (Live)
  24. Smile From A Dead Dead Face (Live)

the chills

Kaleidoscope World (2023 Reissue)

fire records
  • Limited Blue 2LP + download

    Released: 13th Oct 2023


The Chills reissue their celebrated early singles compilation, this 24-track expanded version of Kaleidoscope World gathers together tracks from the ‘Dunedin Double’ compilation, live recordings, ‘Doledrums’ single and the band’s seminal ‘Pink Frost’.

The collection also contains ‘The Lost EP’, with early takes on their groundbreaking ‘Submarine Bells’ album, alongside the aching ‘I Love My Leather Jacket’, perfectly illustrating the rollercoaster ride of Martin Phillipps and The Chills as portrayed in the award film The Triumph And The Tragedy Of Martin Phillipps. “Singer/guitarist Martin Phillipps’ group was at the forefront of the extraordinary little guitar-pop scene in New Zealand in the early ’80s.. Kaleidoscope World is the major document of their early era.” Pitchfork Part of the 80’s extraordinarily vibrant and innovative independent music scene in New Zealand, The Chills became flag bearers, taking the Dunedin sound, as championed by the Flying Nun label, to the world. Long recognised as one of New Zealand's most influential bands, Kaleidoscope World is a definitive artifact from Martin Phillipps’ groundbreaking project. “This is what a living legend looks and sounds like” Rolling Stone.