other titles...

  1. Felt
  2. the iris dry
  3. remember me
  4. do this again
  5. Fading
  6. Gelatin
  7. showed you
  8. at his hands
  9. under
  10. Croak

Kee Avil


  • deluxe "art edition" 180g lp with 6 x 12"x12" art cards + download (pre-order)

    Expected Release: 3rd May 2024

  • cd (pre-order)

    Expected Release: 3rd May 2024


With 'Spine', Kee Avil strips back her heavily textured compositions, opening up a much rawer sound.

She calls it folk—and while traditionalists might scoff, this is urgent music that reflects the precarity of modern life, as well as the jarring mixture of electronic and real-world interactions that have become the fabric of our day-to-day experiences. There's a hypnotic post-punk somnambulance to it all, using the repetition and fracturing of melodic phrases interwoven with delicate electronics to create curious and persistent hooks. While not a concept album, themes of time's passage, remembrance, and decay crop up across multiple tracks. Each track intentionally only has four elements—guitar, electronics, and two other instruments, with Kee's voice and guitar pushed to the front. Within this minimalist framework, the juxtaposition of beauty and discomfort that is key to the Kee Avil sound stands out in skin-prickling relief. "We're shaped by many versions of ourselves," says Avil. "I was looking back at these versions of myself and what could have been, what didn't end up being and what did end up being, and going back like that through time. Seeing the future, the past."

RIYL: PJ Harvey, Mica Levi, Eartheater, SOPHIE, FKA Twigs, Shygirl, Juana Molina, Hyd, Scott Walker