other titles...

See also...



2lp - £26.99 | Buy
From lyrical instrumentals & vividly painted pleats of poetry to softly hewn saxophone & crooned political polemics, DePlume concocts a musical landscap...
Laura Groves

A Private Road

12" ep + download - £23.99 | Buy
Of the 6-track EP Groves says: “This record, made mostly on my own, became both a channel for the expression of an inner world and an imagined soundtrack ...
Daffodils & Dirt


  1. Highwood House
  2. Hungerhill Road
  3. Purple Yellow
  4. The Little White Cloud That Cried
  5. Kaleidoscope
  6. Cry Without End
  7. Broxtowe Girl
  8. Let's Walk In The Night
  9. Greenstone
  10. Double Dip Neon
  11. The Shadow
  12. Loved By God

Sam Morton

Daffodils & Dirt

XL Recordings
  • limited yellow lp

    Released: 14th Jun 2024

  • lp

    Released: 14th Jun 2024


Not content with spending the past 30 years blowing our minds with her breathtaking performances, she's now teamed up with the beguiling sound palette of XL's Richard Russell to launch her perfectly dulcet vocal chops into the stratosphere.

Over twelve startling tracks, the pair build a deeply personal musical world that feels simultaneously intimate and delicate, yet powerful and tough. The part-autobiographical suite of songs see Russell’s spartan soundscapes providing a rich foundation for Morton’s gorgeous, ethereal vocal, aided by a cast of musical collaborators that include Alabaster DePlume, Laura Groves, Jack Peñate and additional vocalist Ali Campbell (on “Broxtowe Girl”). Despite a lifelong love of, and involvement in, music,

SAM MORTON is Samantha Morton’s first ever artist project. The collaboration came about after she appeared on Desert Island Discs in October 2020 and Russell happened to be listening. He was struck not only by her song choices (including a shared love of one song in particular: “I Remember” by Molly Drake) but by the way the music weaved through her lived experiences. The pair connected and corresponded, swapping ideas, sketches and stream-of-consciousnesses. Finally, months later, they met in the studio and engaged in a period of spontaneous, intense and open-ended collaboration, one which proved to be a cathartic musical process for both parties. 'Daffodils & Dirt', completed during 2023, is the captivating result.