Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Birthday Party

prayers on fire (180g vinyl edition)

drastic plastic

limited 180g lp (hand numbered)

Released: 19th Dec 2011


out of stock

the band’s 1981 release is a subterranean labyrinth of an album, peopled by bizarre characters like ‘nick the stripper’ & ‘king ink’, replete with images of murder, decay, blood, & kafka-esque insects.

this record saw the band fit into their unique oeuvre more comfortably. from the storming, tribal opener ‘zoo music girl’ to the bizarre, tom waits-esque ‘kathy’s kisses’, the macabre, surreal & occasionally humorous lyrics exist in constant tumult with the squiggles of roland s. howard’s guitar, which itself barely dodges the blows of the furious rhythm section.

prayers on fire (180g vinyl edition)


  1. 200-music girl
  2. cry
  3. capers
  4. nick the stripper
  5. ho-ho
  6. figure of fun
  7. king ink
  8. a dead song
  9. yard
  10. dull day
  11. just you and me