Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


winged life



Released: 26th Mar 2012


out of stock

reissue of a 2004 soulful indie pop gem with quiet strums of guitar, gentle ripple of rhodes, & the soft exterior of jonathan meiburg's vocals.

after releasing 2 beautiful, fragile, often indulgently miserable records, this talented southwest collective found a new muse for their third long-player. while the often uncomfortable silences & quivering lower lips (‘wedding bells are breaking up that old...’) still make the occasional appearance, meiburg, okkervil river lead singer will sheff, drummer & vibraphonist thor harris, & upright bassist kim burke have crafted horn-rimmed irony with real feeling, navigating emotional territory like big-game hunters.

winged life


  1. A Hush
  2. My Good Deed
  3. Whipping Boy
  4. The Kind
  5. A Makeover
  6. (I've Got A) Right To Cry
  7. Wedding Bells....
  8. St. Mary's Walk
  9. The World in 1984
  10. The Convert
  11. Sealed
  12. The Set Table