Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Adrian Sherwood

Survival & Resistance

On U Sound


Released: 20th Aug 2012


2lp + download

Released: 20th Aug 2012



Dark atmospheric dub, creeping electronics & an almost orchestral approach to arrangement married to Sherwood's brilliant sense of melody.

Drawing on the upheaval of the all-too-recent London riots & staring down the current international economic crisis, the album is an earnest critique of current injustices, & like all great dub music is also potently enjoyable. Echoes of the UK’s hyperactive electronic underground can be heard through the album, & Sherwood’s recent time spent with such young luminaries as Kode 9, Pinch, Digital Mystikz & The Bug have no doubt played an energizing role. However, even stronger is the post-punk lineage of the On-U aesthetic & the mythical mixing approach he has evolved over the years. A swirling maelstrom of skull-shaking, heavy electronic tones & masterful deployment of breathing space & alien echo, accompanied by sherwood's own vocals.


Survival & Resistance


  1. Balance
  2. Trapped Here
  3. U.R.Sound
  4. Starship Bahia
  5. Effective
  6. We Flick The Switch
  7. Bossa 2
  8. Two Semitones And A Raver
  9. Last Queen Of England
  10. Unarmed Heroes (2lp only)
  11. Greenleaves