Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

push the sky away

bad seed ltd

lp + download

Released: 18th Feb 2013


out of stock

the most subtly beautiful & warmly inviting of all the Bad Seeds albums - it's all about the atmosphere & seems to take its cues from the astonishing soundtrack work that nick & warren have worked on together in recent years.

it's a relatively mellow album of dark & light, that explores a musical landscape more associated with the dirty three's gentler outings, rather than the bad seeds' scuzz. brighton people will recognise many of the lyrical references, as the songs are built on details drawn from the life he observed around his seaside home. The rich & complex album has a clarity & sweet strangeness, very much driven by warren's loops. highly recommended! "an aquatic, slow-moving work of hushed beauty...There's something deeply satisfying about the way the songs fit together...each song seems to push the next one forward" 9/10 - uncut."

matt recommends : "obsessively observant yet wildy abstract, beautifully orchestrated and realised. An essential addition to an one of the most impressive catalogues around."

derry recommends : "he only makes classic albums. his most popular ever & deservedly so".

natasha recommends : "I'm Blown away by the effect this album has on me everytime in listen to it - powerful & visceral but equally gentle & alluring - this is one sexy beast of a record which really came to life when experienced live!"

leo recommends : "
his lyrics recall the intense & surreal poetic monologues of 'from her to eternity' while the music possibly surpasses the sinister beauty of 'the lyre of Orpheus'."

***the very LIMITED EDITION cd & dvd version is a hardback book bound in linen with 32 stitched-in pages, containing beautifully reproduced hand typed lyrics & band imagery. Includes album CD plus DVD with specially created visuals by artists Iain Forysth & Jane Pollard***


push the sky away


1. We No Who U R
2. Wide Lovely Eyes
3. Waters Edge
4. Jubilee Street
5. Mermaids
6. We Real Cool
7. Finishing Jubilee Street
8. Higgs Boson Blues
9. Push The Sky Away