Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


to dust

tru thoughts


Released: 1st May 2013


out of stock

universally acknowledged as one of the best soul voices of our time, the jewel in brighton's crown releases her 5th solo album.

‘To Dust’ sees Alice exploring every letter of the soul lexicon. From the Prince-esque strut of 'Hard And Strong' to the epic intensity of the title track, the Heartstring tugging 'I Loved You', the sonically smooth yet emotionally raw 'Twin Peaks' to the pulse-quickening build of 'Let Go (Breakdown)' & psychedelic social consciousness of “Citizens”, Alice is never less than scintillating. The idiosyncratic structure of the LP, peppered with interludes & reprises, makes for a unique & satisfyingly whole "album" experience. Alice’s raw talent & charisma continue to command attention & affection. "Russell imbues her sonic palette with a heartfelt honesty that was behind the naming of the [soul] genre in the first place" - bbc.


to dust

  1. A To Z
  2. Heartbreaker Pt. 2
  3. For A While
  4. Heartbreaker
  5. I Loved You Interlude
  6. Hard And Strong
  7. To Dust
  8. I Loved You
  9. Twin Peaks
  10. Heartbreaker Interlude
  11. Let Go (Breakdown)
  12. Drinking Song Interlude
  13. Citizens
  14. Different