Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.



Dead Oceans

lp + download

Released: 18th Mar 2013


out of stock

Matthew Houck returns with his 6th & most stunning record yet, adding subtle electronic textures to his understated, melancholic dustbowl Americana; recalling the likes of Damien Jurado & Iron & Wine.

it would seem going through a break-up & an eviction has led to a musical reassessment, with houck taking his heartache & weaving a rich tapestry of musical ideas, presented with some fantastic, rich production & textured accompaniment. he has struck gold with an assured blend of atmospheric ambience (a la 2007s 'pride'), sweeping americana & cracked will oldham-esque vocals. “a magnificent beast, mixing country jams with claustrophobic electronica & mournful Mariachi horns to create a beautiful but discomforting album” - Uncut "houck embraces his inner eno" 4/5 - mojo.

***deluxe edition includes a 2nd disc 'Live at St. Pancras Church'***



  1. Sun, Arise! (An Invocation, An Introduction)
  2. Song For Zula
  3. Ride On / Right On
  4. Terror In The Canyons (The Wounded Master)
  5. A Charm / A Blade
  6. Muchacho's Tune
  7. A New Anhedonia
  8. The Quotidian Beasts
  9. Down To Go
  10. Sun's Arising (A Koan, An Exit)

Disc 2 (Live at St. Pancras Church)

  1. Muchacho's Tune
  2. A New Anhedonia
  3. Song For Zula
  4. A Picture Of Our Torn Up Praise
  5. We'll Be Here Soon
  6. My Dove, My Lamb
  7. Terror In The Canyons (The
  8. Wounded Master)
  9. Storms Never Last
  10. Down To Go
  11. Wolves
  12. Mrs. Juliette Low
  13. Los Angeles