Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Ian Dury & The Blockheads


Demon Records

LP + download

Released: 12th Apr 2013

£14.99 £9.99

out of stock

dury's music always bordered on the functional, since it was used as a backdrop for his wry vignettes & stories, but on 1979's 'do it yourself', that aspect came to the fore.

largely abandoning the punk inflections that were scattered throughout 'new boots & panties!', 'do it yourself' is a record of mid-tempo pub rock disco. dury's stories are all wonderful, filled with humour & penetrating detail, formidable when married to such terrific hooks as 'inbetweenies'. 'do it yourself' remains one of dury's very best records, since his lyrical facility throughout the album is simply amazing. 2013 audiophile reissue features original lp art print & free download card on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl.



  1. Inbetweenies
  2. Quiet
  3. Don't Ask Me
  4. Sink My Boats
  5. Waiting For Your Taxi
  6. This Is What We Find
  7. Uneasy Sunny Day HotsyTotsy
  8. Mischief
  9. Dance For The Screamers
  10. Lullaby For Francies