Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

wolfgang voigt (gas)

Zukunft Ohne Menschen


ultra limited deluxe cd/book

Released: 2nd Sep 2013


out of stock

On the occasion of its 20th anniversary, Kompakt 2013 was invited to contribute to Cologne’s highly reputed art fair, Art Cologne.

For the event, WOLFGANG VOIGT designed, inter alia, a sound installation situated in the entrance area of the fair. In line with the cool steel and glass architecture, the abstract minimal „machine music“ flowed out of the manually operated arpeggiator. *Under the title " ZUKUNFT OHNE MENSCHEN“, Voigt created a multimedia concept in ten parts, composed of music, videos, and digital painting. Improvising with virtuosity on industrial sequencer and computer programmes, Voigt created individual sound and visual artwork that comes alive only through the artist’s unique style. *The music sounds as if produced by a random generator although it is made by hand, e.g. like a piano. From photos Voigt took in urban environments he erased all images of people and text, using digital paint programmes, and deformed them into abstract art. Mechanical painting is the term Voigt uses for this excessive style, in which no real paint flows and everything is revocable. The cursor, recorded on the film whilst painting over the photos, looks like a garden hose out of control, boring through the picture. *With “ZUKUNFT OHNE MENSCHEN“, Voigt shares a title with a TV docu-fiction, which phantasizes in a not entirely serious manner about the planet’s future following the disappearance of mankind. Using „dehumanised“ digital machines, Voigt creates a striking acoustic and visual world with an unique artistic signature. The Man Machine 3.0. *The release, now available as deluxe book-CD format, comprises 10 pieces of music and 10 works of visual art. *Deluxe BookCD format with hardcover, incl. 24-page booklet. *limited to 500 copies worldwide.

Zukunft Ohne Menschen


  1. Z.O.M. 1.1
  2. Z.O.M. 1.2
  3. Z.O.M. 1.3
  4. Z.O.M. 1.4
  5. Z.O.M. 1.5
  6. Z.O.M. 1.6
  7. Z.O.M. 1.7
  8. Z.O.M. 1.8
  9. Z.O.M. 1.9
  10. Z.O.M. 1.10