Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

september girls

cursing the sea

fortuna pop!


Released: 3rd Jan 2014


lp + download

Released: 3rd Jan 2014


out of stock

a dark kaleidoscope of echoey drums, buzzsaw bass, angular guitars & reverb-drenched vocals that blends garage rock and post-punk to extraordinary effect.

Named after a Big Star song via The Bangles, ireland's September Girls Draw inspiration from the likes of Phil Spector, The Velvet Underground, The Cure, My Bloody Valentine & The Jesus And Mary Chain on their debut. the five-piece play reverb-soaked noise-pop of the finest order, with distant layered harmonies, swirling organ & distorted guitars once described as "sounds from a transistor radio abandoned in a rural cinema". "thrilling" - Pitchfork.

cursing the sea


  1. Cursing the Sea
  2. Another Love Song
  3. Left Behind
  4. Heartbeats
  5. Green Eyed
  6. Talking
  7. Daylight
  8. Money
  9. Someone New
  10. Secret Lovers
  11. Sister