Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.





Released: 23rd Jan 2014


lp + download

Released: 23rd Jan 2014


creating a somewhat darker sound overall, ‘trouble’ begins with the trademark hospitality pop before unfurling the 2nd half’s spacious sound & stripped down instrumentation.

supplementing their performances with strategically placed strings, synthesisers & drum machines, ‘trouble’ explores the universal themes of loss, love & loneliness with papini's trademark wit, as she ponders a saturday afternoon fishing trip as a wrenching interplay of life & death & the perfect blue sky at an air show as a setting for a soured romance. “in these songs, quietly groovy drumbeats turn fully danceable in the flick of an instant, shimmering afropoppy guitar rains down like confetti, whole brass sections seem to barge in & sneak away & climb back in through some window” – pitchfork “so many treasures are hidden in plain sight by the album’s deceptive sense of emptiness – & these moments make the album absolutely shimmer” 8/10 – drowned in sound.



  1. Nightingale
  2. Going Out
  3. I Miss Your Bones
  4. Inauguration
  5. Rockets and Jets
  6. Sullivan
  7. It's Not Serious
  8. Last Words
  9. Sunship
  10. Call Me After