Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

arthur beatrice

working out



Released: 24th Feb 2014



Released: 24th Feb 2014


out of stock

london 4 piece create beautiful, atmospheric indie-pop mixing the spacious sound of the xx with london grammar's soulful vocal hooks & alt j's experimental electronic edge.

fusing soft, echoing pianos & the gentle pull of boy-girl unison vocals with dynamic, art-pop guitar lines & strident, dance influenced rhythms. 'councillor' begins the journey perfectly, orlando leopard & ella girardot's intimate harmonies softly intoning over a jazzy backbeat & a contrasting upbeat guitar riff. the single 'midland' is an early highlight that really packs a punch, building from the gentle intro to a massive crescendo that sounds like kate bush fronting an indie-disco outfit. it is this duality of styles that makes their sound so satisfying & addictive, the gentle melodies picking up energy from the storming beats & guitar lines. “stunning” – sunday times culture “their past may have been mysterious, then; their future looks anything but” – the observer.

working out


  1. Councillor
  2. Late
  3. Midland
  4. Carter (Uncut)
  5. More Scrapes
  6. Interlude
  7. Grand Union
  8. Singles
  9. Charity
  10. Fairlawn
  11. Ornament & Safeguard