Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


to be kind


deluxe 2cd & dvd

Released: 12th May 2014


out of stock

crammed with sonic detail, this is an absolutely mind-blowing record where michael Gira works on a large musical canvas (a 2cd/3lp album), giving himself ample room to be truly powerful & challenging.

as is customary, the pieces on 'To Be Kind' are built around repetitive rhythm patterns, with dynamics taking them from an ominous whisper to an unholy roar & back again & the sheer physical impact of this music is remarkable, especially on the 4 cuts besides 'Bring the Sun' (which comes in at an almost-album-length 34 minutes) that crack the 10 minute mark. the waves of furious noise, found audio & percussive hail are orchestrated with exacting vision.


to be kind

  1. Screen Shot
  2. Just A Little Boy (For Chester Burnett)
  3. A Little God In My Hands
  4. Bring The Sun/Toussaint L'Ouverture
  5. Some Things We Do
  6. She Loves Us
  7. Kirsten Supine
  8. Oxygen
  9. Nathalie Neal
  10. To Be Kind