Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

alexis taylor

Await Barbarians

Domino Records


Released: 16th Jun 2014


limited lp + 7"+ dl

Released: 16th Jun 2014


lp + download

Released: 16th Jun 2014


the hot chip co-frontman pulls out his finest solo material to date for an album that witnesses the full bloom of his songcraft & even threatens to put his day-job in the shade.

Possessing the same immediacy as his chip contributions & his work with About Group, there's an affecting simplicity & candour to Taylor's expression of emotion, matched with a sense of humour, playfulness & quiet experimentation. The impressively accomplished tunes recall the homespun melodic confections of Paul McCartney's second solo album & the reflective end of Scritti Politti's oeuvre. though 'await barbarians' will be loved by avid fans of hot chip's distinctive indie electro, it's just as apt to surprise and delight those hitherto immune to the chip's charms. "a beguiling & downbeat gem. The witty & intelligent intimacy of his lyrics & his finely restrained vocals grow richer with each repeated listen." - drowned in sound.

Await Barbarians


  1. Lazy Bones
  2. From The Halfway Line
  3. Without A Crutch (2)
  4. Immune System
  5. Dolly And Porter
  6. Closer To The Elderly
  7. Elvis Has Left The
  8. Building
  9. Piano Ducks
  10. New Hours
  11. Where Would I Be?
  12. Am I Not A Soldier?
  13. Without A Crutch (1)