Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

A Sunny Day in Glasgow

Sea When Absent



Released: 4th Aug 2014


LP + download

Released: 4th Aug 2014


a conscious move away from the bright-dark, ambient maximalism of ‘Ashes Grammar’ & a move towards a post-millennial, upfront pop sound, ‘Sea When Absent’ is simultaneously their most accessible, most insane & most rock record to date.

their sound is no longer reliant on heavy reverb & buried vocals - Jen Goma & Anne Fredrickson have beautiful voices & it was time to explore the possibilities of their abilities / talents. Annie also put her classical cello training to use adding string arrangements. the mesmerising results should appeal to fans of jj or the pains of being pure at heart. “‘Sea When Absent’ has the quality of one of those spectacularly bright summer days when the colour in everything seems a little over-saturated & it induces the same dizzy, woozy feeling you get after staring directly at the sun” - Pitchfork, “flits between dynamic mashup & woozy comedown” - The List

Sea When Absent


  1. Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End)
  2. In Love With Useless (The Timeless Geometry In The Tradition Of Passing)
  3. Crushin’
  4. MTLOV (Minor Keys)
  5. The Things They Do to Me
  6. Boys Turn Into Girls (Initiation Rites)
  7. Never Nothing (It’s Alright [It’s Ok])
  8. Double Dutch
  9. The Body, It Bends ( ペルセポネが帰ってきた!)
  10. Oh, I’m A Wrecker (What To Say To Crazy People)
  11. Golden Waves