Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Black Messiah


2lp + download

Released: 9th Mar 2015


the super smooth soulster's long-awaited follow up to the landmark 'voodoo' album from back in 2000 is being hailed as something of an instant classic, almost unanimously.

it features lyrical contributions from Q-Tip & Funkadelic’s Kendra Foster while ?uestlove of the Roots, bassist Pino Palladino & drummer James Gadson. "a study in controlled chaos...'Black Messiah' is a dictionary of soul, but D'Angelo is the rare classicist able to filter the attributes of the greats in the canon into a sound distinctly his own. It’s at once familiar & oddly unprecedented" 9.4/10 - pitchfork, 'Black Messiah' shows how deep easy can go. D'Angelo and his band have built an avant-soul dream palace to get lost in, for 56 minutes of heaven" 4.5/5 - rolling stone, "constantly engrossing" 9/10 - nme.

Black Messiah


  1. Ain’t That Easy
  2. 1000 Deaths
  3. The Charade
  4. Sugah Daddy
  5. Really Love
  6. Back in the Future (Part I)
  7. Till It’s Done (Tutu)
  8. Prayer
  9. Betray My Heart
  10. The Door
  11. Back in the Future (Part II)
  12. Another Life