Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

unknown mortal orchestra




Released: 25th May 2015


lp + download

Released: 25th May 2015


frontman & multi-instrumentalist Ruban Nielson adds dimensions to the band’s already kaleidoscopic approach, exploring a newfound appreciation for synthesizers & The sheer sonic variety on display here suggests he's still feeling creative & restless.

It's psychedelia that pushes boundaries & makes a quiet argument against the idea that every frontier has been explored. Jagged, sculpted beats & cosmic synthesizers (especially on the weightless outro of 'Stage or Screen') add dimension to a genre supposedly known for its expansive creativity. Cosmic escapes & disco rhythms play host to neilson’s vocals which reach powerful new heights & take us higher & higher as the album progesses. for fans of tame impala, temples, pond or foxygen. "joyously funky...surging ahead of their fellow psych-pop voyagers, abandoning the hazy introversion of previous albums for frisky, rainbow-coloured optimism" 9/10 - uncut, a dense, detailed & wildly engrossing album" 9/10 - nme.

*** limited indies only version = pink lp + 12" featuring 40 minutes of sonic exploration, formally released here for the first time ***



  1. Multi-Love
  2. Like Acid Rain
  3. Ur Life One Night
  4. Can’t Keep Checking My Phone
  5. Extreme Wealth and Casual Cruelty
  6. The World Is Crowded
  7. Stage or Screen
  8. Necessary Evil
  9. Puzzles