Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Strangers To Ourselves


ltd 2lp + d/l

Released: 16th Mar 2015


out of stock

it's been 8 years but finally, isaac brock & co return with their 6th album & the influential indie rock outfit are sounding more like arcade fire than arcade fire themselves! a highly addictive genre-hopping slice of inventiveness.

"Brilliantly deranged first album in eight years from the alt-rock heroes...From grizzled, slap-bass disco freakouts (‘The Ground Walks, With Time In A Box’) to campfire lullabies (‘God Is An Indian And You’re An Asshole’) it's an impressively unpredictable record that veers down wildly different paths, in ways no previous Modest Mouse album has dared. Brock’s lyrics remain the same: dense thickets of imagery & introspection but otherwise 'Strangers...' is an adventurous reinvention" 7/10 - nme.

Strangers To Ourselves


1. Strangers to Ourselves
2. Lampshades On Fire
3. Shit in Your Cut
4. Pistol (A. Cunanan, Miami, FL. 1996)
5. Ansel
6. The Ground Walks, with Time in a Box
7. Coyotes
8. Pups to Dust
9. Sugar Boats
10. Wicked Campaign
11. Be Brave
12. God is an Indian and You're an Asshole
13. The Tortoise and the Tourist
14. The Best Room
15. Of Course We Know