Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Mark Knopfler


virgin emi


Released: 16th Mar 2015


the former dire straits man's 8th solo album contains 11 new songs - Mark’s usual wryly but accurately observed vignettes of real life wrapped up in a musical accompaniment of unusually distinctive subtlety.

the record is incredibly restrained, focusing on knopfler's wonderfully mellowed voice & relying a lot on the atmosphere built by the band. produced by Knopfler & Guy Fletcher, The band features Mark Knopfler on guitars, Guy Fletcher on keyboards, John McCusker on fiddle, Mike McGoldrick on whistle & flute, Glenn Worf on bass & Ian Thomas on drums. Guest musicians include Ruth Moody (from The Wailin’ Jennys) on vocals, Nigel Hitchcock on saxophone & Phil Cunningham on accordion. "an excellent case for re-engagement...richly melodic, lyrically involving, & boasts an unhurried elegance & quiet intensity which elevates it to the ranks of knopfler's most affecting work" 8/10 - uncut.


  1. Laughs and Jokes and Drinks and Smokes
  2. Basil
  3. River Towns
  4. Skydiver
  5. Mighty Man
  6. Broken Bones
  7. Long Cool Girl
  8. Lights of Taormina
  9. Silver Eagle
  10. Beryl
  11. Wherever I Go (featuring Ruth Moody)