Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Azealia Banks

Broke With Expensive Taste

Prospect Park


Released: 23rd Mar 2015


out of stock

limited indies only import 2LP

Released: 30th Oct 2015


out of stock

it's taken forever for this to come out on a physical format, but it's well worth owning as it's an impressive debut that gets more funky & addictive with every listen.

the long-available singles like '212', 'Chasing Time' & 'Yung Rapunxel' showcase aggressive production that winds together dubstep's relentless bass pounding & Banks' talents as a fluid, sometimes vicious MC as well as a strong R&B vocalist. Production assistance from underground dance figures like Lone, AraabMuzik, & Lil Internet, gives the album an incredibly varied feel. Spanish-sung rhymes, Latin breakdown & funky horn sections come up against harsh minimalism, commercial rap routines, haunted trap beat, jazz & even surf beats (courtesy of the Ariel Pink-produced 'Nude Beach A Go-Go'). for fans of m.i.a., santigold, mark ronson or beyonce.

Broke With Expensive Taste


  1. Idle Delilah
  2. Gimme a Chance
  3. Desperado
  4. JFK (feat. Theophilus London)
  5. 212 (feat. Lazy Jay)
  6. Wallace
  7. Heavy Metal and Reflective
  8. BBD
  9. Ice Princess
  10. Yung Rapunxel
  11. Soda
  12. Chasing Time
  13. Luxury
  14. Nude Beach A-Go-Go
  15. Miss Amor
  16. Miss Camaraderie