Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Kamasi Washington

The Epic



Released: 18th May 2015


A brazen release from young Los Angeles jazz giant, composer & bandleader Kamasi Washington - ‘The Epic’ is unlike anything jazz has seen & not just because it emanates from the boundary-defying Brainfeeder label.

‘The Epic’ is a 172 minute, three volume set (across three CDs) that includes a 32-piece orchestra, a 20-person choir & 17 songs overlaid with a compositional score written by Washington. Pulsing underneath is an otherworldly ten-piece band, each member of which is individually regarded as among the best young musicians on the planet, including bassist Thundercat & his brother, drummer Ronald Bruner Jr. Flying Lotus has featured Washington on his albums ‘Cosmogramma’ and ‘You’re Dead!’ and he also plays on the new Kendrick Lamar album ‘To Pimp A Butterfly’. Recommended if you like Flying Lotus, John Coltrane, Fela Kuti.

LP consists of 3 x black 180g 12”s in artworked 3mm spined sleeves all housed in a rigid board outer slipcase. Half speed cut by Matt Colton at Alchemy Mastering. MP3 download code enclosed. Includes 2 x 12" poster inserts featuring exclusive artwork by KC Woolf Haxton and story adaptation and calligraphy by Kenturah Davis.

The Epic


‘Vol.1: The Plan’

  1. Change Of The Guard
  2. Askim
  3. Isabelle
  4. Final Thought
  5. The Next Step
  6. The Rhythm
  7. Changes

‘Vol.2: The Glorious Tale’

  1. Miss Understanding
  2. Leroy And Lanisha
  3. Re Run
  4. Seven Prayers
  5. Henrietta Our Hero
  6. The Magnificent 7

‘Vol.3: The Historic

  1. Repetition’
  2. Re Run Home
  3. Cherokee
  4. Clair de Lune
  5. Malcolm’s Theme
  6. The Message