Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Give Up Your Dreams



Released: 7th Aug 2015


ltd gold lp + download

Released: 7th Aug 2015


the new zealanders' sixth studio album is a shrewd and vibrant reminder that in The Phoenix Foundation’s gloriously absurd world of Technicolour pop, it’s the challenges you set yourself that reap the greatest rewards.

eschewing acoustic guitars and building the songs from the rhythms of new drummer chris o'connor, 'guyd' is the sound of a band with the pressure off, embracing a freedom to explore. Taking a free-form approach from Chris and bass guitarist/vocalist Tom Callwood’s experiences in wellington's improv and experimental scene, the album’s cosmic vibes lead to highlights like 'jason' and 'celestial bodies' where fascinating rhythms and electronic textures fuse naturally with warm, easy melodies. elsewhere, everything from lost chilean tribes to sixth century philosophers provides inspiration. Fans of my morning jacket, caribou and metronomy might all find plenty to love. "a nice career reboot" 4/5 - q. "upbeat, uptempo and clearly a lot of fun to make" - uncut.

Give Up Your Dreams


  1. Mountain
  2. Bob Lennon John Dylan
  3. Playing Dead
  4. Prawn
  5. Jason
  6. Celestial Bodies
  7. Silent Orb
  8. Sunbed
  9. Give Up Your Dreams
  10. Myth