Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

chelsea wolfe


Sargent House


Released: 7th Aug 2015


out of stock

2LP + download

Released: 7th Aug 2015


out of stock

inspired by that unsettling, nebulous state between waking & sleeping, the californian princess of darkness produces an extraordinary, heavy, 5th album.

wolfe may have obvious antecedents in siouxsie sioux, the cocteau twins & dead can dance, & an equally obvious kinship with current excavators of feminine darkness zola jesus, gazelle twin & warpaint, but 'abyss' proves that her particular of gloomy noise, soulful vocals, dramatic melodies & horror soundtrack dynamics is uniquely evocative & sensual. as well as the above reference points, various residents also compare this inky, immersive record to beth gibbons, the haxan cloak, esben & the witch, fever ray & swans, all of which adds up to far more than one-dimensional gothiness. “Her darkest, heaviest & most personal album yet . . . a haunting, doomy exercise in loud-quiet dynamics" - Rolling Stone; "bewitching netherworld torch songs... a darkly compelling tour de force" 4/5 - mojo.



  1. Carrion Flowers
  2. Iron Moon
  3. Dragged Out
  4. Maw
  5. Grey Days
  6. After the Fall
  7. Crazy Love
  8. Simple Death
  9. Survive
  10. Color of Blood
  11. The Abyss