Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

John Renbourn

The Attic Tapes



Released: 16th Oct 2015


out of stock

a veritable goldmine of treasures from tapes found in a friend’s attic, lovingly restored remastered and polished for this release.

A remarkable guitarist dedicated to innovation and technical mastery who blended elements of English and Celtic folk, jazz, country blues, pre-Renaissance and Western/Eastern classical traditions. These recordings were made in the two or three years before his first ever official release for Transatlantic Records. Mastered from a series of long lost tapes dating back to the early 1960s, the album not only features collaborations with Davy Graham and Beverley Martyn, it also includes a long lost version of Davy’s classic “Anji” recorded in 1962 and includes sleeve notes by John, written shortly before his death in March 2015.


The Attic Tapes


  1. Anji
  2. Blues Run The Game
  3. Rosslyn
  4. Picking Up The Sunshine (Feat. Beverley Martyn) (Live)
  5. I Know My Babe (Live at Les Cousins)
  6. The Wildest Pig In Captivity
  7. Candyman
  8. Buffalo
  9. National Seven (Live)
  10. Come Back Baby (Feat. Beverley Martyn) (Live)
  11. Train Tune (Live)
  12. Judy (Live)
  13. Beth's Blues (Live)
  14. Cocaine (Feat. Mac MacLeod)
  15. Courting Blues
  16. It Hurts Me Too (Feat. Mac MacLeod)
  17. Portland Town (Live)
  18. Plainsong (Live)
  19. Can't Keep From Crying (Live)
  20. Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out (Feat. Davy Graham) (Live)