Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Count Ossie & The Mystic Revelation of Rastafari

The Spiritual Roots Of Reggae



Released: 9th Oct 2015


out of stock

a timely reissue of this mind-blowingly important long out of print album from count ossie himself.

a massively influential release that deals with ossie’s spirituality, it takes dub poetry and spiritual music to a new level. while it’s still fundamentally a reggae album (and has the grooves to prove it) it feels like so much more – this is a hugely intense and political album that deals with the history of the italo-ethiopian war and it’s spiritual causes and consequences alongside more general themes. a hugely important document in music - one of the finest and most important political albums around in any genre. 

The Spiritual Roots Of Reggae


  1. Bongo Man
  2. Naration
  3. Malorat
  4. Doem
  5. Four Hundred Years
  6. Poem
  7. Song
  8. Lumba
  9. Four Hundred Years
  10. Ethiopian Serenade
  11. Oh Carolina
  12. So Long
  13. Grounation