Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Max Richter

Max Richter: Songs from Before (2016 edition)


lp + download

Released: 4th Mar 2016


Beautifully recorded & cinematic in scope, ‘Songs From Before’ carries a pensive, emotionally resonant tone.

Punctuated by Robert Wyatt’s distinctive, understated readings of Haruki Murakami’s text, the music evokes forgotten memories or lost histories, a series of bittersweet articulations that seem suspended somewhere between a dreamy sense of awe & melancholia. The title refers to the fact that, as well as this being a kind of specimen case of music written over a long period, the album carries other music inside it - with the sources ranging from music between 5 & 300 years old - either used as starting points for Max’s own writing, or submerged deep within.

Max Richter: Songs from Before (2016 edition)


  1. Song
  2. Flowers for Yulia
  3. Fragment
  4. Harmonium
  5. Ionosphere
  6. Autumn Music 1
  7. Time Passing
  8. Sunlight
  9. Lullaby
  10. Autumn Music 2
  11. Verses
  12. From the Rue Vilin