Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Whirlpool (2016 reissue)

cherry red


Released: 6th May 2016


This newly expanded reissue of their classic debut “Whirpool”, now includes all the B-sides from the singles 'Pearl', 'Falling Down' and the 'Sunburst EP', along with 'Die Die Die' which was originally only available on a free record that came with the vinyl version of the album & is on CD for the first time.

Inspired by the likes of Slowdive & Ride, Chapterhouse were part of the "shoe-gazing" scene of the early 90s but unlike other acts who aquired a set of guitar pedals & headed off to the nearest recording studio, they mixed beats with their wall-of-sonic-guitar-fuzz to create records to stimulate both mind & feet.  Produced by the band alongside Robin Guthrie (Cocteau Twins), John Fryer (This Mortal Coil), Stephen Hague (New Order) & Ralph Jezzard, it also features guest vocals from Rachel Goswell (Slowdive).

Whirlpool (2016 reissue)


  1. Breather
  2. Pearl
  3. Autosleeper
  4. Treasure
  5. Falling Down
  6. April
  7. Guilt
  8. If You Want Me
  9. Something More
  10. Need (Somebody)
  11. Inside Of Me
  12. Sixteen Years
  13. Satin Safe
  14. Rain
  15. Feel The Same
  16. Come Heaven
  17. In My Arms
  18. Die Die Die